top of page

Language will take you places.


In less than 24 hours, its back to speaking English, back to normal life, back to the real world.

But I am not the same person I was 8 weeks ago.

8 weeks ago, I couldn't spit out a 5 minute presentation in Chinese even if I tried.

8 weeks ago, I didn't have the Chinese vocabulary to discuss environmental protection, gender equality, or politics.

8 weeks ago, I had yet to experience the world that opens up when you learn a language.

Now I know, language can truly take you places.

As I attended the final banquet tonight, I couldn't help but bask in the beauty of this experience.

While the world outside Middlebury is currently filled with violence, unrest, and hatred, the Middlebury Chinese School is quite the opposite.

Not only are we learning a language, but we are also opening the door to a new culture and a new appreciation for the world that God created. And it's beautiful. Breathtaking.

The world needs more people who thirst for "different." More people who find joy in sharing culture with one another.

And so, after 8 weeks, my Chinese skills have grown, but so has my worldview.

Final thoughts?

Thank you, Middlebury.

Language learning is one of the most important things there is. Because when you truly grasp a language, you can begin to grasp the culture, and after that...the options are endless.

Language will take you places.

It already has.


bottom of page