top of page

加油!加油!加油!


Just like in English, the Chinese language also has many fixed expressions.

So before you use Google to translate this week's title, I will warn you my intentions are not to say "Add Gas 3x over."

加油 simply means "Good luck, you can do this!"

A perfect saying for the sixth week at Middlebury.

第六个星期 (6th week) was filled with education discussions, an authentic Chinese meal, and soon to take place: China Night!

As my vocabulary continues to grow, I can start discussing relevant topics with my classmates. This week, it was fascinating to discuss the differences between Chinese and American education systems. (Side note: It's surprising how much you can agree with someone's point of view when your language skills are limited.)

加油!

But the real event this week is China Night. For all those people who have told me my jokes are terrible and I'm not the least bit funny, this is me proving you wrong.

Tomorrow night, I will be representing the second-year students as their 主持人。What does this mean? I'll be staying up late tonight practicing my jokes (though already amazing) and rehearsing my script because tomorrow night I, along with four other students, will emcee the talent show.

加油!

In all honesty, I have no idea what I am doing. But this isn't the first new experience this summer, so why not?

Here's to bringing two of my favorite things together: telling cheesy jokes and speaking Chinese.

加油!


bottom of page